# INDEPENDENT MONITORING BOARD GLOBAL POLIO ERADICATION INITIATIVE (GPEI) EIGHTH MEETING

7 to 9 May 2013 Venue: Royal College of Physicians, Regents Park, London

# LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

# **IMB MEMBERS**

Sir Liam Donaldson, Professor of Health Policy, Imperial College, London, UK

Dr Nasr El Sayed, Assistant Minister of Health, Egypt

Dr Jeffrey Koplan, Vice President for Global Health, Emory Global Health Institute, USA

Dr Sigrun Møgedal, Special Advisor, Norwegian Knowledge Center for Health Services

Professor Ruth Nduati, Associate Professor of Paediatrics, University of Nairobi, Kenya

Dr Ciro de Quadros, Executive Vice President, Sabin Vaccine Institute, USA

Dr Arvind Singhal, Professor of Communication, University of Texas at El Paso, USA

Professor Michael Toole, Head, Centre for International Health, Burnet Institute, Australia

# IMB Secretariat

Dr Paul Rutter

Mr Niall Fry

# **AFGHANISTAN**

Dr Suraya Dalil, Minister of Public Health

Dr Mohammad Taufiq Mashal, Director-General Preventive Medicine

Dr. Jawad Usmani, Director, International Relation Department, Ministry of Public Health

#### **NIGERIA**

Dr Muhammad Ali Pate, Honorable Minister of State for Health

Dr Ado JG Muhammad, Executive Director/Chief Executive NPHCDA

Dr Andrew Etsano, CMO/Incident Manager, EOC

Dr Faisal Shuaib, Deputy Incident manager/TA HMSH

Dr Anas Salma Kolo, Hon Commisioner for Health, Borno State

Deputy Governor of Yobe State/Commissioner for Health, Engr Abubarkar D Aliyu

# **PAKISTAN**

Madam Shahnaz Wazir Ali, President's Focal Person for Polio Eradication

Mr. Faridullah Khan, Secretary Ministry of Inter Provincial Coordination (IPC)

Dr Altaf Hussain Bosan, Prime Minister's Polio Monitoring and Coordination Cell

Dr Elias Durry, WHO Lead, Pakistan

Mr Per Engebak, UNICEF Lead, Pakistan

# **CORE PARTNERS**

# Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, USA

Dr Robert Linkins, Director, Disease Eradication and Elimination Branch Dr Steve Cochi, Senior Advisor to the Director of Global Immunisation Division

# **Rotary International**

Mr Carl-Wilhelm Stenhammar, Trustee Chairman Dr Carol Pandak, Director, PolioPlus

#### UNICEF

Mr Mickey Chopra, Chief of Health Dr Jalaa' Abdelwahab, Polio Team, Officer in Charge Ms Sherine Guirguis, Communications Specialist

#### WHO Geneva

Dr Bruce Aylward, ADG, Polio, Emergencies and Country Collaboration Dr Hamid Jafari, Director, Global Polio Eradication Initiative Mr Andrew Freeman, Consultant to the GPEI

# **Gates Foundation**

Mr Jay Wenger, Polio Programme Lead Mr Michael Galway, Deputy Director, Polio Program Strategy & Implementation

# PARTNERS AND STAKEHOLDERS

# Afghanistan Independent Review Team (2012)

Dr Carl Tinstman, Team Leader

# Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Prof. Zulfigar Bhutta [by T/C for Pakistan session: Day One]

# **Canadian International Development Agency**

Ms Catherine Beach, Analyst, Health and Education Programming and Institutions Division

# **Communication Initiative**

Mr Chris Morry, Programme Director

#### CORE

Dr Lee Losey, Senior Technical Advisor, CORE Group Polio Project

# Crown Prince Court, Abu Dhabi

Mr Ziad Fares, Director, Office of Strategic Affairs

### **DfID**

Mr John Gibb, Polio Programme Manager, Health Services Team Dr Delna Ghandi, Senior Health Adviser, Health Services Team Ms Penny Robertson, Polio Programme

# Field Epidemiology and Laboratory Training Programme, Pakistan

Dr Rana Jawa Asghar, Resident Advisor

#### **GAVI Alliance**

Dr Alan Brooks, Special Advisor for Immunisation

# Germany

Dr Dirk Gehl, Senior Project Manager, LAb2 / KfW Entwicklungsbank

# **Global Polio Eradication Initiative**

Ms Sarah Kline, Consultant

# **Global Poverty Project**

Mr Simon Moss, Chief Operations Officer

# Japan

Mr. Kouji Maruyama, First Secretary, Embassy of Japan, London Ms Mayuri Hirata, First Secretary, Embassy of Japan, London

### **Pakistan Paediatric Association**

Prof. Iqbal Memon, Chairman, Organising Committee

# **Polio Partners Group**

Ambassador John Lange, Co-Chair

# **Technical Advisory Groups & Expert Review Committee**

Dr Salah Al Awaidy, Chair, Afghanistan Technical Advisory Group Prof. Oyewale Tomori, Chair, Nigeria Expert Review Committee Prof. David Salisbury, Chair, Pakistan Technical Advisory Group

# **UN Foundation**

Ms Andrea Gay, Director, Children's Health, United Nations Foundation

#### LISAID

Ms Ellyn Ogden, USAID Worldwide Polio Eradication Coordinator

# **WHO Africa Regional Office**

Dr Deo Nshimirimana, Polio Programme Team Leader

# **WHO Europe Regional Office**

Dr Dina Pfeifer, Programme Manager for Immunisation and Vaccine Preventable Diseases