Transition IMB

Polio Transition Independent Monitoring Board (TIMB)

This page and its sub-pages are maintained by the Transition Independent Monitoring Board and reflect the views of that body alone.


As we near the end of the polio eradication initiative, there is a need to plan for the ramp-down and closure of the GPEI. During nearly three decades of operations, the GPEI has mobilized and trained millions of volunteers, social mobilizers, and health workers; accessed households untouched by other health initiatives; mapped and brought health interventions to chronically neglected communities and areas of conflict; and established a standardized, real-time global surveillance and response capacity, and a global laboratory network of accredited labs and personnel.

Polio transition planning aims to:

  • Ensure that functions needed to maintain a polio-free world after eradication are mainstreamed into ongoing public health programs
  • Ensure that the knowledge generated and lessons learned from polio eradication activities are documented and shared with other health initiatives
  • Support, where feasible, desirable and appropriate, transition capabilities and processes to assist other health priorities and ensure sustainability of the experience of the GPEI program.

Terms of reference

The Polio Transition IMB (TIMB) shall independently monitor and guide the process of transition planning, assessing the quality, sufficiency and impact of work being undertaken to achieve transition planning aims stated in the Polio Eradication and Endgame Strategic Plan 2013-18.

The Polio Transition IMB is established at the request of the Polio Oversight Board [1].


An initial preparatory meeting of the Polio Transition IMB is planned for 14 – 15 November 2016, with the first formal meeting in early 2017 and subsequent meetings every six months until the end of 2019.


The eleven members of the Polio Transition IMB members are:

Chair: Sir Liam Donaldson, UK



Dr Jon Andrus, USA

Dr Salah Al Awaidy, Oman

Dr Mohammed Abdi Jama, Somalia

Dr Jeffrey Koplan, USA

Prof Yvonne Maldonado, USA

Dr Bjorn Melgaard, Denmark

Mrs Anne Mtonga, Zambia

Dr Mirta Roses, Argentina

Dr Roma Solomon, India

Ms Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul, Germany


The board represents recognized international experts in disciplines relevant to the Polio Transition IMB Terms of Reference: provide broad public health perspectives (health systems, immunisations, maternal and child health, global health security, communicable diseases); perspectives that may come from outside public health, such as on change management, human resources, and transition

[1] The Polio Oversight Board consists of: Director General, World Health Organization; Executive Director, UNICEF; Director, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; President 2016-17, Rotary International; and, President, Global Development Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.